allAfrica.com (Africa), October 20, 2003

Kampala to Premier the Matrix Revolutions

by Moses Serugo

The Matrix Revolutions will premiere in Kampala a day earlier than the worldwide premiere. A source at Cineplex says the makers of the film gave them a go ahead owing to the fact that Uganda was a small market that would not jeopardise the film's release.

Meanwhile the film will be released at exactly the same time in 65 countries across the world. This will mean a 6 a.m start for fans in Los Angeles, 9 a.m in New York, 2 p.m in London, 5 p.m in Moscow and 11 p.m in Tokyo on November 5.

It is the first time a film has been released in this way and distributors Warner Brothers say it is to capitalise on the final part of the trilogy's popularity and to ward off piracy. The Matrix Revolutions is the final instalment of the successful sci-fi trilogy starring Keanu Reeves and Hugo Weaving.

Imax Corporation, which owns the technology behind the format, struck a deal with Warner Bros to simultaneously show the film on 5 November.

The makers of the Matrix films are considering only promoting the third film, Matrix Revolutions, for next year's Oscars over its predecessor The Matrix Reloaded that came out in May. Both films were shot on the same 240-day shoot and Warners, which produced the films, had considered pushing for both of them to be nominated as a single entry. But the academy refused saying the movies were released separately, each with its own marketing campaign. The Oscars will be held on February 29, 2004.




Article Focus:

Matrix Revolutions, The

Tagged:

Matrix Reloaded, The , Matrix Revolutions, The






You need to be a member to leave comments. Please login or register.